October Zoom updates

October 7, 2020

Tagged As

Zoom updates

Zoom continues to make security and features upgrades. To get the most out of these updates, please make sure you update to the newest version (Zoom 5.3.0) and always sign in to your UM System Zoom account prior to joining a meeting.

When scheduling a Zoom meeting, you will now see a new default option in the "only authenticated users can join" setting: University of Missouri System ONLY.

Two new security settings

  1.  When scheduling a Zoom meeting, you will now see a new default option in the "only authenticated users can join" setting: University of Missouri System ONLY. This setting ensures only UM-authenticated users can join your meeting. When using this option, please remind your meeting participants that they will need to sign in to their University of Missouri Zoom account before they can join your meeting. If you need to invite external guests, please select Anybody who has a Zoom account from the dropdown list.

  2. All Zoom meetings must have either the passcode, waiting room and/or authenticated users only settings enabled. Many users still have meetings on their account without security enabled. A good practice is to update recurring meeting invites with new Zoom security options enabled. Don’t forget about the Zoom/Outlook integration that is available that makes adding Zoom information to your calendar events quick and easy. You also can set up Zoom meetings from inside Canvas as well.

Reminders from previous Zoom security notices

  • Delete Zoom recordings when you don’t need them.
  • Adhere to video privacy and FERPA guidelines when recording Zoom sessions.
  • Avoid recording participants prior to the meeting host’s arrival.
    • Do not select Enable join before host unless necessary.
    • Do not select Automatically record meeting unless necessary.

Self-assign to breakout rooms

Upon clicking the breakout rooms button, the host will have the option to let Zoom assign automatically, assign manually or let participants choose their breakout room.

Zoom now allows participants to move in and out of breakout rooms on their own. This feature requires that both the meeting host and participants update to version 5.3.0 of the Zoom desktop client.

Upon clicking the breakout rooms button, the host will have the option to let Zoom assign automatically, assign manually or let participants choose their breakout room.

Zoom Cloud recordings are now copied to Panopto

Zoom recordings will now save to the Panopto Meeting Recordings folder.

Canvas now includes an automatic integration that connects your Zoom and Panopto accounts. This means your Zoom Cloud recordings will be copied directly into Panopto, which allows you to save them permanently. Zoom Cloud recordings will be deleted from Zoom after 120 days; this new integration means you can use Panopto to store your Zoom recordings for longer and/or permanently. Panopto is the preferred method for storing and sharing videos within a Canvas course site.

To provide you with more control and flexibility over which videos you want to share with the students in your courses, Zoom recordings will now save to the Panopto Meeting Recordings folder.

If you have questions, or need assistance, please call us at (855) 675-0755 or live chat with us at teachingtools.umsystem.edu.

Tagged As